About Ayurveda

Ayureda is a comprehensive  ancient  natural healing science, the origin of which is obscure, but  is attributed to Atharva veda. Systemic documentation of the science was started from 6th century. The major lexicons of Ayurveda called the Bruhatrayee viz Charaka samhita, Sushruta samhita , Ashtanga sangraha were documented between 6th century BC  to 7th century AD which is called the samhita period.

The word Ayu means life and veda means Knowledge, therefore Ayurveda aims at longevity of life by healing the ailments, preventing the sicknesss and promoting life. It address all aspects of life including body, mind, environment and their influences on each other, behavior, social welfare, spiritual wellbeing, diet, lifestyle, daily living, seasonal variations.

It is the only ancient science to be well classified scientifically into eight branches.

Kaya Chikitsa : General Medicine Gynecology

Bala Chikitsa : Obstetrics, & Pediatrics

Graha Chikitsa :  Microbial infections and management

Shalakya Tantra : ENT and Ophthalmology, orodentistry

Shalya Tantra : Surgery

Agada Tantra / Visha Chikitsa : Toxicology

Jara / Rasayana Tantra : Geriatrics

Vajikarana : Reproductive science

Ayurveda being the mother of medical systems is the first science in the world to vividly describe multifarious aspects of studying  diseases which include Causitive factors, premonitory symptoms, symptoms, pathological process, different modalities for treating the diseases

Read More   .